LogoPrague Pruhonice

Organizing institutions

PopBio specialist group of Geselschaft für Oecologie

The conference is organized under the PopBio specialist group of GFÖ. We appreciate the support of the speakers of the PopBio specialist group of GFÖ (Niek J.F. Scheepens, Solveig Franziska Bucher) and financial support from the Gesellschaft für Oecologie (GFÖ).

Department of Population Ecology, Institute of Botany, Czech Academy of Science

The Institute of Botany is one of the research institutes of the Czech Academy of Sciences, studying taxonomy, biosystematics and phytogeography of higher and lower plants (e.g., algology, ecotoxicology, mycology and lichenology), plant ecology (population biology, synecology, comparative and production ecology, ecophysiology), mycorrhizal symbioses, vegetation including vegetation mapping and paleoecology. Currently, its research focus is on biodiversity and evolutionary trends among plants, ecology of invasive species, responses of plants and vegetation to environmental change and the mechanisms that enable species to coexist in ecosystems.

The Department of Population Ecology aims at understanding ecology and genetics of plant populations in the field. We do so at many different levels using a wide range of model organisms and systems. While our primary focus is on forbs and grasses in open habitats within Central Europe, several of our projects also go beyond this scope. These include work in other areas of the world such as Norway, Nepal Himalayas or the Canary Islands. For details on our research, click here

Department of Botany, Faculty of Science, Charles University, Prague

Charles University is the oldest university in Central Europe, founded in 1348. After a turbulent history, which primarily was determined by the turbulent history of Central Europe in past centuries, it currently has 17 faculties and is one of the foremost institutions of teaching and research in a broad range of subjects in the Czech Republic.

The Faculty of Science was established in 1920 as the fifth faculty of Charles University. It is currently one of the two largest faculties of the Charles University; it has 29 departments, organized into four sections of biology, chemistry, geology and geography, together with an institute of environmental science, three museums and a botanical garden. The Faculty of Science offers all three major educational levels, bachelor, master and doctoral. It is one of the most important research and teaching institutions in science in the country, with overall enrollment about 5000 students in bachelor and master programmes, and about 1000 students in PhD. programmes. Most of its departments are housed in the Albertov region, which was established as a sort of a university campus in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. 

Department of Botany is the main institution of the Faculty of Science and Charles University for the study of ecology and evolution of plants, phototrophic protists and fungi.  It has four research and teaching units, viz. plant ecology (including paleoecology), plant systematics and evolution, phycology and mycology.  It maintains close collaborative links with the Institute of Botany (namely in the disciplines of ecology and evolution of plants). It is housed in the unmistakable turn-of-the-century building in the botanical garden (Benatska 2).

With the help from

Hana Skálová from Department of Invasion Ecology, IBOT and Jana Raabová from National Muzeum of the Czech Republic

Life for Minuartia

The project aims to save the Czech endemic species Minuartia smejkalii. These partners are involved:

life for MinuartiaCSOPNatura 2000

Life programmeMZP